BARC North Western Centre report for BARC Magazine 2015 Autumn edition.

At the time of writing it is theoretically summer but the evidence does not support the theory! However it has not dampened the spirit of the NW Centre's activities. All sections of the club have been very active with their specialist roles, the rescue unit, marshals, officials and of course the CNC Heads sports saloon championship.

The next race is to be held at Oulton Park and is round 8. We have a record number of entries for this round, nudging 50; so the grid has been split into two grids. The specials will run in one race and the modifieds in another.

The way things stand in the overall championship points is intriguing because although last year's overall champion Steven Hibbert has the lead with 65 points in his Lotus Elise, Joe Spencer is in second place in his Locosaki with 60 and Stuart Pearson is in third with 55 in his Ginetta G20. The significance of this is that Steven has played his Joker and the other two have not. The Joker doubles the number of points you earn at a chosen round. With a maximum of 7 points available for a class win and fastest class lap, it can make a massive difference to your points position. There are 4 more rounds to go after today and the final round is for double points for everyone who enters so anything really could happen!

In fact Ilsa Cox who is leading class E in her Seat Leon Cupra cannot be discounted as she has won a round overall this season. There are only 11 points covering positions 4 to 10 in the overall standings so it would be very unwise to draw any conclusions about the final results! With the occasional non finish or non-start, things could change around quite a bit yet.

Some of the class runners deserve more of a mention than there is usually room for as they make up a large part of the close racing and spectacle on track. Luke Armiger (spaceframe Tigra) is leading class B at the moment but Garry Watson is a close second in his Westfield SEW. Philip Duncan is a not too distant third in his Westfield SEi. Luke, Garry and Philip deserve a special award as our most travelled drivers, Luke coming up from Kent and the other two from Scotland.

Ralph Underwood has a solid second position in class D in his Triumph TR8. I don't think he will mind me saying it is more from consistency than outright speed but he has still earned the points. Class E often gives the greatest show on the track as a bunch of them are usually glued together the whole race. Third to sixth is covered by 6 points by Steven Parker (BMW Compact, Kevin Cryer (Ginetta G20), Graeme Laslett (Lotus Elise) and Paul Rotheroe (Citroen Xsara VTS).

Class F for the up to 1600cc cars has Helen Allen in a commanding lead in her Fiesta but second to eighth places are covered by only 9 points!

Also special about these groups of drivers across the whole grid is the camaraderie felt without any lessening of the competitive driving.

There is a special award made at this round which is very much prized by the drivers because it is for the driver who wins his class by the greatest margin; a real test of quick driving. It is called the Dave Simpson Trophy and remembers a man who was a pioneering member of the NW committee many years ago. Dave was a Chief Marshal and put a lot into his official activities as part of that bedrock of motor racing made of totally devoted, enthusiastic and skilled amateurs.

Dave used some of his business skills to improve the race official's lot, being one of the first to use a photocopier for reproduction of paperwork and the first to bring along a



computer to deal with the organisation and administration of the meetings. The presentation of the trophy will be made by his wife Margaret who has reflected his enthusiasm for many years in her role as our Chief Marshal.

At our last Anglesey meeting Steven Hibbert was presented with the new Cam Forbes Trophy by Dawn Forbes. Anglesey was Cam's favourite circuit and it was awarded to the driver who made up the most places in the race from his or her qualifying position. Cam was not the best in qualifying but always made up for it in the race and it was decided that the trophy should reflect this determination.

Best wishes to all other centres for the final stages of the season. Before you know it we

will see you at the Centres Conferences again!

Peter Gorrie

NW Centre Secretary